Pop Goodyear1

Goodyear’s Air Maintenance Technology Wins 2012 POPULAR MECHANICS Breakthrough Award


The POPULAR MECHANICS Breakthrough Awards, now in their eighth year, recognize the innovators and products that have dramatically advanced the fields of technology, medicine, space exploration, automotive design, environmental engineering and more.

Goodyear and other winners will be honoured at an invitation-only conference and gala awards ceremony in New York City on October 4, and in the November issue of POPULAR MECHANICS, available on newsstands October 16. 

”We are honoured to be named as one of POPULAR MECHANICS Breakthrough Award winners for 2012,” stated Goodyear’s Chief Technical Officer Jean-Claude Kihn.

“Our Air Maintenance Technology will enhance driving performance, while having a positive impact on the environment through improved fuel efficiency, reduced emissions and extended tire life. This award highlights the innovative work of our engineers, as well as our efforts to bring a relevant product to market.”

Goodyear’s Air Maintenance Technology will help ensure the optimum tyre pressure is maintained and as a result could mean substantial savings at the fuel pump.

According to government and industry research, underinflated tyres result in between a 2.5 percent and 3.3 percent decrease in fuel economy. While the technology is complex, the idea behind the AMT system is relatively simple and powered by the tyre itself as it rolls down the road.

”We are once again excited to recognize this year’s list of incredible honourees for their role in shaping the future,” says James B. Meigs, editor-in-chief of POPULAR MECHANICS. “From a featherweight metal to the world’s fastest and most electrically efficient supercomputer, this year’s winners embody the creative spirit that the Breakthrough Awards were founded upon.”

A full list of winners can be found at www.popularmechanics.com/breakthroughawards. 

Past recipients of the Breakthrough Awards include James Cameron, genomics pioneer J. Craig Venter, efficiency expert Amory Lovins, inventor and FIRST Robotics founder Dean Kamen, and humanitarian engineer Amy Smith. 

POPULAR MECHANICS’ Breakthrough Awards are given in two categories: innovators, whose inventions will make the world smarter, safer and more efficient in the years to come, and products, which are setting benchmarks in design and engineering today.

Pop Goodyear2

Pop Goodyear3

Pop Goodyear4

Pop Goodyear5


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *